A Quaker Reading, on Death


William Penn

And this is the Comfort of the Good,
that the Grave cannot hold them,
and that they live as soon as they die.

For Death is no more than a Turning of us over
from Time to Eternity.

Nor can there be a Revolution without it;
for it supposes the Dissolution of one form,
in order to the Succession of another.

Death then, being the Way and Condition of Life,
we cannot love to live,
if we cannot bear to die.

They that love beyond the World,
cannot be separated by it.

Death cannot kill, what never dies.

Nor can Spirits ever be divided
that love and live in the same Divine Principle;
the Root and Record of their Friendship.

If Absence be not death, neither is theirs.

Death is but Crossing the World,
as Friends do the Seas;
They live in one another still.

For they must needs be present,
that love and live in that which is Omnipresent.

In this Divine Glass,
they see Face to Face;
and their Converse is Free, as well as Pure.

This is the Comfort of Friends,
that though they may be said to Die,
yet their Friendship and Society are, in the best Sense,
ever present, because Immortal.

Death is but Crossing the World,
as Friends do the Seas;
They live in one another still.

Go well, Saltydog.

8 Responses to “A Quaker Reading, on Death”

  1. tizona Says:

    Beautiful, Spot…Just beautiful. Thank you.

  2. saltydog Says:

    Thank you, Spot.

  3. JD Says:

    Hey Spot. I couldnt sleep tonight so I was just browsing and found this – it’s one of the most beautiful readins I’ve ever heard. I’m glad you put it up here, I had forgotten where it was from. You read it at your little boy’s memorial, didn’t you. \”They that love beyond the world, cannot be separated by it.\”

    And Tizona, I’m sorry I had that spit at you a whiles back. Obama is managing to bring up the old dirty racial divide again, and I was tetchy. And stupid. I will think before I type next time, right?

  4. tizona Says:

    JD

    You are welcome here any damn time you want.

    I was a tad of large ass stupid, myself.

    Think? What is this thing called “think”? My Doctor through the tests he has ordered, confirms, that blood actually does go to my brain. That does not mean I use that blood up there, for the intended purpose(s) ;)

  5. spacecadette Says:

    When I die, I want fireworks and a party.

    I actually look forward to dying.

    Don’t care care if they throw me out of heaven but I’m definitely going to kick someone’s ass up there.

  6. Dminor Says:

    My Doctor through the tests he has ordered, confirms, that blood actually does go to my brain.

    My doctor said that too, whilst pointing at my crotch.

  7. tizona Says:

    Lmao…Sir D.

  8. Angus Dei Says:

    I have never been a fan of overly sentimental paintings of death, but I once heard a very humble pastor – a black guy from a caribbean island whose name I can’t remember – say (Quoting from memory), “If you have lived a righteous life, learned from your mistakes, and have never given up, death will be your friend.”

    I’ve never heard it said better or more succinctly.


Well, SAY something...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

