Just because it can be done


Yawn, update. Guess you guys need an explanation. Well I first thought of paco and how he loves the classics and how you all love him. Lie. I thought of Paco after a mate put on the tune.

Is it Aker Bilk?

Anyway, I don’t know how to say it properly, academically, but there’s a disconcerting divide between young and old, left and right.

This is unnatural.

By putting on this young peeps musik compared to what…

I wanna decrease the disconnect. Hope you old charges  like it.

PS And Mythusmage needs someone to clean his apartment…

Posted in Temp. 13 Comments »

13 Responses to “Just because it can be done”

  1. mythusmage Says:

    Well, help clean it. A combination of Aspergers (means I’m messy) and Clinical Depression (too down to clean) contributes to a junk pile.

    On the positive side, recent experience with the Medi-Cal bureaucracy has convinced me that single payer medical is a damn stupid idea.

    • bingbing Says:

      Chickens and eggs. You realise, of course, if you actually just cleaned it, you’d feel better, if only a bit.

      That said my apartment looks like a bomb hit it at the moment. It’s like a fricken’ obstacle course at boot camp trying to navigate it.

    • mythusmage Says:

      Bingbing, you idjit.

      Clinical Depression means nothing is worth doing. It’s all meaningless, it’s all futile. You do nothing because to do anything is a waste of time and energy. Yes, it is irrational. Major depression is an irrational disease.

      To get anything done you need hope whatever you do will make a difference. Depression robs you of that hope. It can get so bad even suicide becomes too much to attempt, because you’re sure you’re going to fail. That’s what I’m dealing with right now; I have no hope cleaning this apartment will make a difference. No hope I can even get the job done, no hope it will mean a damn thing if ever is done.

      That is what Clinical Depression does to its victims, robs them of hope, and all your admonitions do is make it worse. So long as the mental health industry continues to be hostile to the mental ill, so long as we let lawyers bully us, so long as California’s Medi-Cal Program continues to nickle and dime the medical industry to death, so long as my Aspergers remains unaddressed and my depression remains inadequately treated, I’m going to be this way. Your oh so helpfully meant advice isn’t going to change that.

      Bingbing, I need help. I can’t do it on my own. At the moment I’m not getting that help, and it doesn’t look like I’ll be able to for the foreseeable future. More and more I’m coming to realize that our society needs some serious changes, and the first thing we need to do is tell the worry warts and control freaks to “lighten up.”

    • bingbing Says:

      If there’s any way possible you can see a psychiatrist, please do so. Even if you can just call one. In Australia, we have free counselling services such as Life Line or the Salvation Army or Beyond Blue. Is there anything similar in California?

      In the meantime, I’m begging you to read the Tao.

    • bingbing Says:

      Link.

    • mythusmage Says:

      I am seeing a psychiatrist. The problem is, as long as certain regulations and court decisions remain in force, he can’t do what’s needed for my care.

    • bingbing Says:

      Sorry to hear that.

    • nilk Says:

      Mythus, I’ve been there and done that with the suicidal depression thing, but mine was more situational than your clinical depression.

      You are right about the hope thing, and when it’s not there, it bloody hard to find it. After a while, it doesn’t seem like it’s even worth thinking about maybe trying to find some.

      That’s my experience, anyway. While we’re all different, I always visualised it as being at the bottom of a deep, deep well where you’re all alone and nobody can hear you.

      We can hear you, and we can lend a (metaphorical) hand – can you hear us?

      Anyway, if you need anything, drop me a line.

      And to get back on topic… I’m craptastic at housekeeping myself, which is why I like having the Godmother around.

      And Bing, that music if fricken awful!

      To make myself feel better, and the rest of you jealous, I’m just going to boast about how I just had 2 seasons of Sledge Hammer delivered from Amazon.

      So there.

    • bingbing Says:

      Well bugger you, nilk, that music is craptastic.

      Mthus, even if I’d had periods of serotonin and/or melatonin depletion, my job wouldn’t allow me to admit that.

      But perhaps at that bottom of that well, all the misguided help, and shrinks, and pills, and whatever can help a bit, this book, that book, solidarity, whatever. Ultimately it’s up to you.

    • bingbing Says:

      Only you can do it, mate. Serious, mate. I can guarantee you no docs or pills or advice will fix anything. All that might help…temporarily… but.. It’s gotta come from your own mind.

  2. The Wizard of WOZ Says:

    Old charges? Just how old do you think I am Bing?

    • bingbing Says:

      Around 90?

    • The Wizard of WOZ Says:

      90? Dont make me take my walking stick to your behind you young whipper snapper!!!


Well, SAY something...

