Beer Wars


Seen it, yet? Not as exciting as the trailer might suggest, and a little too Lefty, but still an interesting watch. Definitely an eye-opener to our, er, not-so-humble beer.

UPDATE

Let’s start a VB ad competition. Carpe got the ball rolling. Can you top it?

9 Responses to “Beer Wars”

  1. VodkaBlogger Says:

    The doco is arriving (legally, I am sure) on my computer as I type – 75% down, 15 minutes to go – and I’ll be interested to see how it plays out. Even for a VodkaBlogger it doesn’t seem like a movie to watch with a cold glass of white spirits in hand. Instead I’ve grabbed a couple of cans of the Amsterdam Navigator, a beer that is not super-special but that certainly packs a punch and will take the edge off your day.

    Rumour has it that most US beers are watery and hardly worth the trouble of tasting unless you have an attraction for visiting the urinal to make a deposit. I’ve never had any problems with Sam Adams and Miller GD is not bad on a summer’s day but I’ve never been a fan of Bud in any form. Hopefully the movie – even with it’s Lefty slant – will be interesting.

  2. VodkaBlogger Says:

    OK, the doco is done…

    I both liked an didn’t like the film.

    What I liked was the spirit of the small brewers who believed in what they produced, had a vision for where they wanted to go and who believed that their beer was best.

    What I didn’t like was the repeated insinuation that “big companies” were inherently evil, that “big companies” were only winning becuse they were using a monopoly power – strange in a market where no one has more than 50% of the market – to overcome the “little guy”. I mean, a company that produces millions of litres of beer and needs a nine million dollar expansion is “human scale”? C’mon…

    I also found the animation distracting, especially at the start of the doco: if you are trying to make a serious point then do it without resorting to Warner Bros. style cartoons.

    All that said, I didn’t turn it off and I wasn’t completely annoyed at the end of it. Not the world’s best doco and, yes, close to a poor man’s Michael Moore, but it wasn’t boring for someone who enjoys a drink.

    …and surely gettin’ through it deserves another…🙂

    • bingbing Says:

      I have to agree. It did have that Moore Lite feel to it, that Lefty slant, but I think Righties are used to that most times we turn on the TV or go to the cinema and have pretty good filters.

      As for refreshments, it was still soju, with a squeeze of lime. Korean beer isn’t too crash hot, to put it mildly. Not that soju is either, but I ain’t no millionaire, unless you count it it won, Korea’s currency. Heck, I’m no connoisseur. Does it contain alcohol? Does the coffee contain caffeine?

      And it was a bit surprising to find out just how many brands AB owns. That they own Kirin, Stella Artois and Hoegarden was news to this humble consumer. But yeah, it was a shame the doco failed to point out AB was once a little family company, too.

      So that big company=evil, small company=good theme running throughout was annoying, but it was still an interesting insight into the industry.

      One thing, though. Why do Americans drink that Lite crap so much? What’s the point?

  3. Angus Dei Says:

    Here’s the thing: I love a good beer, and have drank many dozens of varieties in my world travels, and have drank many varieties from places I’ve never been to – the only book on my coffee table is The World Guide to Beer – but when it’s hot, and I want something light and refreshing, no heavy-duty lager or ale is going to do what a Coors can do. So, since it’s hot and icky here in Texas much of the year, that’s what I drink most often. I like it!

    Now, when I’m out and about with friends to hear some music and eat some food, then I’ll go for the Chimay, Old Peculiar, Duvel, or what have you.

    Budweiser, however, sucks. It induces hangovers because it’s brewed with rice. It should be against the law to put rice in beer. The Germans got that right back in the 1500’s.

  4. Carpe Jugulum Says:

    I love a good aussie beer, and, by rights, should have been gifted with shares in Carlton & united Breweries. But, it will be a cold day in hell when i’ll drink American beer. I drank Olympia in Hawai in ’83 and even when i think of it i need to scrub my tongue with a dunny brush.

    Now VB; (Gods Nectar)

    You can get it starting a pump
    or
    Taking a dump

    Driving a plough
    or
    Having sex with a cow

    Matter of fact i got it now.

    A hard earned thirst needs a big cold beer.
    and the best cold beer is Vic;

    Victoria Bitter (nectar of the gods)

    Naaa…Naaa….na..na..na..naaa..naaa, naaa…naaa…na.na..na..naaaaaa,

    c’mon you know the tune sing along, naaa…naaa…

    • Angus Dei Says:

      It would be a mistake to judge all American beer by Oly. I used to live in Washington State, so I know Olympia is not a good beer at all.

      Original Coors (Not Coors Light) is a good, refreshing beer. Then there’s the more upscale Sam Adams varieties, some of which are excellent. Many microbrews are good: Fat Tire, Avalanche Ale, Arrogant Bastard (“You are not good enough to drink this beer” is their motto). Many more.

    • bingbing Says:

      Ah, yes. Sam Adams. Loosely quoted from the Family Guy.

      One bloke: I’ll have a coffee.
      Other bloke1: I’ll have a coffee, too.
      Family Guy: I’ll have a Sam Adams.
      One bloke: What, Jim?! It’s 10 o’clock in the morning!
      Family Guy: Yeah, but I gotta get the taste of weed and hooker spit outta my mouth.
      Other bloke: You know what? I’ll have a Sam Adams, too.

      And, Gus. What was Carpe on about?

      This.

      Victoria Bitter.

    • bingbing Says:

      You can get it taking a class
      or
      Fucking her ass

      Driving a plough
      or
      Having sex with a cow

      Matter of fact I’m shagging one now.

      And I’m straining
      and
      I think I could burst

      I sure gotta thirst

      A hard earned thirst needs a big cold beer.
      and the best cold beer is Vic;

      Victoria Bitter

  5. The Wizard of WOZ Says:

    Its late and I’ve been drinking Whiskey, but keep an eye on this space over the weekend (hangover permitting) for a very special rant about beer.


Well, SAY something...

