Speaking of Tasteless…..


Well I finally managed to purchase a small jar of the new vegemite.

My thoughts? It’ll sell well because it’s not as…. pungent… as real vegemite.

Vegemite is not a taste that’s readily acquired, so anything that can grab a market is probably what they’re after with this new taste sensation.

Sure, it’s got a different texture on the tongue, and it tastes a bit cheesy, but it’s still vegemite.

The Godmother’s boy will eat it on toast or muffins rather than real vegemite, and Magilla’s been known to eat it on toast, but I prefer the original.

The idea with vegemite is to get them while they’re young, and they’re yours for life. I’m proof of that, as are probably 99.98% of the vegemite eaters you know. The rest are flukes.

Anyway, kids love vegemite and cheese sangas – I did as a kid – so these should sell well in the child cuisine market. How the product will survive the transition when the kids grow up is something we’ll see down the track, I guess.

Personally, I don’t like it. I grew out of vegemite and cheese yonks ago.

Oh, and it’s been christened “cheesymite” here.

I can’t call it a condimental disaster, but it is a catchy phrase if I do say so.

6 Responses to “Speaking of Tasteless…..”

  1. kae Says:

    You’re a braver man than I am, Gunga Din!

  2. nilk Says:

    Kae, I offered to take one for the team. It’s edible, but not palatable to my taste.

    I like my vegemite real and original like I prefer real coke (none of that diet/sugarfree crap) and I like real milk in my hot chocolate or pretend coffee.

  3. kae Says:

    I’m the same as you.
    Vegemite and cheese? Ick.
    Diet coke sux, but unfortunately I’ll have to drink it when I go on the low carb watch what i eat thingy.
    Remember the slogan for Diet Coke, “Just for the taste of it, Diet Coke”, who the hell were they kidding?

  4. Carpe Jugulum Says:

    The whole cheesy-vegemitey thing just doesn’t work for me, couldn’t stand it as a kid and the mere thought of it as an adult would make a moggot gag.

    Now don’t get me started on diet coke…………..

  5. nilk Says:

    Diet coke is disgusting, as are all of those “diet” drinks. Nothing worse than the bitter after taste of aspartame or saccharine.

    I do love seeing people line up at Maccas for their big mac and diet coke, though. Irony overload anyone?

  6. bingbing Says:

    You finally did it! It wasn’t gonna be easy but thanks all the same. The timing of your post couldn’t have been better… as usual, the Koreans are screwing me at the end of my contract. Seriously, to the hour, perfect timing.


Well, SAY something...

