When Fast Isn’t Good Enough: Nissan Encounters Warp Drive


I have a Dodge RAM 1500 Quad Cab 4×4 Sport pickup truck and a BMW R1100RS motorcycle, and I’m okay with that. Why don’t I have a car? Because I can afford the truck and the bike I want, but I’m nowhere near wealthy enough to afford any car I’d care to drive. Say, an automobile such as the Bugatti Veyron.

Here’s what happens when a fast car I could afford – the Nissan GT-R – meets a Bugatti Veyron in a matchup.

Well, calling it a “matchup” isn’t really fair, is it?

See, if I can’t afford a car that can do that, I’ll stick with trucks and motorcycles.

From AutoBlog.

UPDATE (bing)

The Veyron at top speed… 253 miles/h… 407km/h

It goes from 200km/h to 300km/h in 9.4 seconds.

The asked a Formula 1 team if they could use their wind tunnel. No can do. F1 cars don’t go fast enough.

UPDATE 2: For SezaGeoff, Angus Dei’s highly customized 1994 BMW R1100RS.

4433240_WFetf-O

The Beef of God himself on his BMW K1200LT back in 2005 (Now sold).

3858340_axJRw-O

I love motorcycles and have ridden over 100K miles on them in the past ten years.

18 Responses to “When Fast Isn’t Good Enough: Nissan Encounters Warp Drive”

  1. bingbing Says:

    So let’s get this right. You can afford (a musician with money… will the madness never end?) a GT-R skyline, one hot piece of machinery, but you’re stubbornly refusing to obtain one because it’s not quite as fast as the fastest street-legal road car on the planet?

    The day I don’t spend my holiday in Australia, I’m gonna fly to Texas, buy some cowboy boots, and kick your heiny down to the nearest Nissan dealership!

  2. Angus Dei Says:

    Awesome update Bing! I didn’t know Top Gear had got hold of a Veyron. The music was fantastic. LOL!

    • bingbing Says:

      Actually, they’ve done a couple of pieces on the Veyron. Maybe three, even.

      The thing about the Veyron, referencing James May, is that at top speed, it’s still such a serene ride.

  3. SezaGeoff Says:

    Angus, I didn’t realise that you and I were buddies – I’ve had a R1100s since Nov. 1998. I still like it.

    • Angus Dei Says:

      Excellent!

      Mine is a 1993 Beta Bike with the crosscut gears in the transmission and different gearing, plus no catalytic converter. They were sold in the US as 1994 models, and mine was in the first ten imported (August of 1993). I’ve bought and sold a 1998 K1200RS and a 2000 K1200LT since I’ve had it, and I loved both of those bikes, but NOTHING can compare to the R1100RS. I plan to keep it the rest of my life. I’m 6’2″ with a 35″ inseam, and it’s the only truly sporty bike that fits me. The K1200RS was tolerable, but not as comfortable, and the K1200LT was the most comfortable bike I’ve ever been on, but not as nimble (It weighed 788 pounds!).

      I’ve done extensive upgrades: R1100S front fork and bars, R1150RS five-spoke wheels, R1100GS suspension (It’s so tall I’m barely flat-footed with my 35″ inseam!), and a classic Luftmeister exhaust. It is truly one-of-a-kind.

  4. The Wizard of WOZ Says:

    Ok to start with, Bing, the car in question isnt a Skyline, its a Nissan GT-R. The last GT-R skyline was the R34 with a 2.6L inline 6 cylinder engine and 4 wheel steering. The ‘R35’ has a 3.8L V6 and only front wheel steering.

    As for the Veyron, yes it is a ‘Concorde’ moment. It is simply the best road car we will ever make. It costs $2.2 million Australian (before tax) to buy. Most estimates put the cost of manufacture at least $3 million. Its not financially viable and the lefties hate it with almost as much passion as GWB.

    Yes a Veyron does 0-160kph (0-100mph) in 5.5 seconds. Yes that is ridiculously fast. But you simply cannot use it on the street. My car does 0-100kph (0-60mph) in about 5 seconds and unless you’re travelling in a straight line on an open road, you’ll either smoke the tyres or hit something/someone.

    But for less than half that money, you can have one of these.

    0-160 in ONE second, top speed somewhere north of 510kph (320mph). 6 foot flames blowing out both sides and the exhaust gasses are toxic to all known forms of life.

    Nothing beats a Top Fuel car.

    • eggz Says:

      In the power-to-weight stakes, a bike is to a car as a car is to a truck: a brutal bike such as a Hayabusa turbo will demolish the Veyron …

    • bingbing Says:

      Cheers, WOZ. GT-Rs used to be Skylines, back when I was in OZ… although we’re talking around 5 years ago nowadays. So it’s just the GT-R now, no skyline? They don’t have them in this little backwater tinpot shithole. 99% Korean cars coz the tax the living daylights out of anything else (if you ever meet a trade rep, ask him or her about Korea). When did it become just the GT-R. And PS, how much? How much is Gus not paying because it’s not quite as fast as the fastest road car ever?

    • The Wizard of WOZ Says:

      Well according to the Wiki page, production started in 2007 and one can be yours for the meagre sum of US$76,840.

  5. Carpe Jugulum Says:

    OK Angus Dei,

    i’ll back my XB12R against your BMW R1100RS anyday.

    pppffftt…..a beemer……..soft

    • Angus Dei Says:

      I got into Beemers in my 40’s. Well, 39 actually. I love sport bikes, but I’m 6’2″ with a 35″ inseam and they fold me into a pretzel. That was OK in my twenties, but I got tired of it.

      Oh, and I’ll race you and win. Here’s the race: From the Guggenheim Museum in NYC to the opposite end of the Golden Gate Bridge in Marin County, CA.

      I once rode that K1200LT 1,290 miles in 1,155 minutes from Marathon Key FL to Adelphi MD. Given a long enough race, I can beat almost anybody on the planet. I know about a dozen guys who could keep up with me, and they’re all Iron Butt riders.

      October good for you?🙂

    • Carpe Jugulum Says:

      No October is when the MotoGP is on & i go down to Phillip Island.

      How about September, but the route should be from Southbank (Melbourne) to Phillip Island (so i can do a victory lap). The Buell suits me, being only 5’7″, with a beemer id need a step ladder to get on.

  6. Carpe Jugulum Says:

    RE: Update 2….aaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh, that is not a bike, that is a clock with wheels. We shall never speak about the panniers…………..just disturbing.

  7. bingbing Says:

    WTF is an inseam?

    • Carpe Jugulum Says:

      C’mon Bing, FFS the inseam you know, the seam that……..no, i_got_nothing…………….WTF is an inseam?

    • Angus Dei Says:

      Inseam is the distance from your balls to your ankle joints: The inside seam of your pants.

    • bingbing Says:

      So tailor made pants ordered in winter are a different size to those ordered in summer.

  8. Martin Lowfuel Says:

    Angus Dei

    You sound like a dude of my caliber. I’m riding the R1100RS and I’m thrilled with it as well. I’ve changed the exhaust pipe and without catalysator and plug it gives a nice deep humming. I’ve been riding the states as well back in ’93. Torued over Vancouver, Oregon, SF, LA, Death Valley, New Mexico, Texas, New Orleans and on to the Daytona rally with the Airheads. After rally at the keys with the Poverty Riders before going back to calif in 3 1/2 day. I bought my BMW R100S ’78 from Ozzie in Chico, outside SF – Ozzie was an old vet racer… Several of the guys rode the Iron Butt as well. We most probably know some of the same guys…
    Greetings from Denmark – where the bike is stored for the season.


Well, SAY something...

