BMW Vision Efficient-Dynamics Concept Car


I don’t usually get excited about concept cars – I’m really more of a motorcycle guy and I drive a pickup truck – but this BMW is pretty freaking cool.

bmwtop

“BMW’s Vision EfficientDynamics concept has been the subject of rumor and innuendo for weeks, but now the German car company is setting the stage for its 2009 Frankfurt Auto Show display with new details of its concept…

As the name implies, this concept car grafts fashionable green technology on the body of a 2+2 sports car. The promise: BMW M-car performance from a vehicle with a three-cylinder diesel plug-in hybrid powertrain…

Performance is geared to please the toughest Bimmerphile. BMW claims a 155-mph top speed and a 0-60 mph time of less than 4.8 seconds, while providing fuel economy of almost 63 mpg, and for European enthusiasts, CO2 emissions of 99 grams per kilometer…

Driving range could pass 400 miles with fuel or 31 miles on electricity alone, BMW also adds…

The racing-inspired details continue with well-managed airflow–so tightly tuned, the EfficientDynamics concept generates a coefficient of drag of 0.22, while today’s best production cars sit at 0.24 (the Mercedes-Benz E-Class Coupe).”

Of course, nothing this radical or beautiful – in the mind of this particular beholder, I’ll admit – is practical for production, but the technical details, many of which I didn’t excerpt, are truly marvelous.

If only BMW made 4×4 pickup trucks, then my truck would match my motorcycle. LOL!

5 Responses to “BMW Vision Efficient-Dynamics Concept Car”

  1. Carpe Jugulum Says:

    “If only BMW made 4×4 pickup trucks, then my truck would match my motorcycle”

    For the love of god man don’t go there, the horror.

    The beemer concept is a seriously good looking vehicle, it’s like robocop with out the guns & voice……………& no i guess it’s not like robocop, but a damn fine looking vehicle anyway. I want one!, (pity i can’t afford it)

  2. bingbing Says:

    Neat looking car. Not sure if it’d match your cowboy hat, though, Gus.

  3. The Wizard of WOZ Says:

    Its not the most ugly car I’ve seen, but its a long way from the prettiest too.

    After saying that I have but two questions:

    1: How much?

    2: 3 cylinder diesel? Sorry but I like my fillings in my teeth, not rattling about in my mouth. You might get away with it if its a two stroke, but then you need a supercharger.

    Oh and you get that thing up to 250kph (155mph) and see if you’re getting 63mpg…

  4. Angus Dei Says:

    Personally, I think an AWD (viscous coupled versus traditional full time mechanically linked 4×4), fully independent suspension BMW pickup would be brilliant. They already have the ride height adjustment technology, so you’d have BMW handling – OK, and there’s the price “problem” – with enough ground clearance when needed to get to the ski resort, and in BMW style!

    Plus, enough headroom to wear my Resistol. 🙂

    • Kaboom Says:

      Jeez, Angus,

      Sorry to hear about your haemorrhoids. Hope it clears up for you – time cures all, you know.


Well, SAY something...

