Remaking an Epic: Clash of the Titans


I’m an old-school retrosexual kind of guy, so I like epic movies like Gladiator, 10,000 BC, The Patriot, Apocalypto, Master and Commander – you get the idea; the more high-test testosterone, the better. Well, the original Clash of the Titans came out in 1981, and it was a pretty good action epic for the time – I actually have a Swedish friend named Anders who had a bit part in it – but after movies like 300, which have redefined the entire look and feel of action epics, I’ve begun to wonder what those kind of production values and CGI effects could bring to a remake of Clash.

You could have knocked me over with a feather when I heard that, not only is a remake on the horizon, but it’s finished filming and is already in post production! This flew completely under my radar. Here’s the trailer in formats up to and including 1080p HD (Which looks awesome on my Apple 23″ Cinema HD Display). HA! It sounds as if Bingbing did the film score: very heavy, which I like for this sort of thing (300 had a brilliant score).

It looks like they’ve done it right, with a big budget, no-holds-barred CGI effects, and a killer cast that includes Sam Worthington as Persius, Ralph Fiennes as Hades, Liam Neeson as Zeus (!), Alexa Davalos as Andromeda, and my favorite babe-actress of the moment, Gemma Arterton, as Io.

I could so love her. LOL!

I don’t go to theaters to see films in first release much anymore, but this one I will. Of course, I’ll have to have the DVD too. In fact, this movie might finally spur me on to finally buy a Blu-Ray player if I like it enough.

I’m more psyched about Clash of the Titans than I am about Avatar.

One Response to “Remaking an Epic: Clash of the Titans”

  1. bingbing Says:

    There’s hope yet. I nearly walked out of 2012 last night. The leftard moralising in it was enough to make you puke. Good CG, yes, and being Roland Emerich, one knew it would be riddled with lefist crap, but he really has taken it to new levels.

    Good find, Gus. LOL on the music score. Hey, it’s not my fault even I didn’t like The Dillenger Escape Plan the guitarist from that song I sent you was pushing on me… until I listened to them on headphones one day… meditation. Rock, paper, scissors, rule… we will rock you.

    300 is a personal favourite, and yes, really did redefine how a good action movie is done. Ha, Koreans tell me I look like Gerard Butler.🙄 they used to say Russell Crow. It’s really just a nice way of saying you’re white, have a beard, are a bit fat, but I like you. Law Abiding Citizen is meant to be good.

    Considering the disappointments that have been dished up lately, Inglorious Basterds, 2012, lets hope your excitement re COTT is well founded.


Well, SAY something...

