Timewarpians Stroll London in Victorian Garb


Since Steampunk has pretty much gone main stream, I’ve thought retro garb was pretty much a foregone conclusion. Many lament the lack of style and grace in today’s living, including me (But I’m not ready to give up my jeans quite yet).

(CNN) — Social networking may be one of the biggest phenomenons of the 21st century, but for some denizens of the Web, it’s a way to get in touch with the past.

Web sites like livinghistoryworldwide.com (with a membership of more than 5,700) and groups on Facebook allow people who enjoy past eras to connect with each other. But it goes beyond that: Some of them dress and live like they would decades, if not centuries, ago.”

Funny thing is, if you pick any era from the 1950’s back, you’re going to be dressing with more class. Back in the 80’s, when I was going through my, “cool jazz musician phase,” I used to dress like this (As did quite a few of the straight-ahead swing musicians).

I can think of far worse social trends than tasteful dress and refined manners. In fact, this phenomenon has more than a few conservative elements to it.

“Why would one live this lifestyle? For many of these iReporters, it’s a reaction to modern society just as much as a love of the fashion and style of days gone by.

“I suppose others might call me an eccentric, but I just live the life I want to live and don’t care about what others say or think about me,” said Ray Frensham, a “Living Victorian,” from London, England. “Even though I’ve felt increasingly disconnected from the modern world for many years now, I’m not retreating into some past nether-world seeking a kind of comfort-blanket.”

Modern society in the United Kingdom can be “remarkably cruel and unforgiving,” Frensham said. “There is certainly no sense of any kind of community anymore,” he said. “People are purely self-centered, only in it for what they can get out of themselves.” He points to the recent MP expenses scandal there, which led to the resignation of British House of Commons Speaker Michael Martin, as an example.”

So, I’m all for it, but not ready for the top hat and ascot quite yet.

12 Responses to “Timewarpians Stroll London in Victorian Garb”

  1. The Wizard of WOZ Says:

    I’ve been dressing in ‘older clothes’ for years. It might take a while for flannie shirts to come back into fashion though…

    • bingbing Says:

      Flanno?

    • The Wizard of WOZ Says:

      Flanno flannie, you say tomato I say potato…
      😀

  2. bingbing Says:

    You dress like a fag.

    Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

  3. 1.6 Says:

    http://www.clergystyle.com/Shoes%20Stock.htm

    my choice of men’s fashion for the week.

    • Angus Dei Says:

      Hideous! lol

    • bingbing Says:

      1: how did you find that? 2: what is it with chicks and shoes?

  4. 1.6 Says:

    I think you’d look hot in a pair of those shoes. Im tipsy at the mo,….. oops

  5. Carpe Jugulum Says:

    Why would any sane being wear a hat that makes them look like a roofing nail??

    • bingbing Says:

      Why are Ugh boots the latest fashion – at over 50 bucks a pair?

    • J.M. Heinrichs Says:

      Because “mukluk” is difficult to pronounce: http://www.authenticcanadianmukluks.com/

      Cheers

  6. Ray Frensham Says:

    As I said in a recent interview “we aren’t exactly hurting anyone, are we?”.


Well, SAY something...

