Michelle Obama. Style Icon.


What can I say? She’s even got a blog devoted to her sense of remarkable style.

The above picture is from Getty Images and shows Mrs. and Mr. Messiah (sorry, Kev). If you look carefully, you will note that the eyes truly are the window to the soul, and you can see the brimstone simmering away under the surface.

This woman ought to be arrested for crimes against fashion, rather than being lifted up as a fashion plate to aspire to.

Sure, I get around in daggy clothes most of the time, but I’ve got an excuse. I don’t have much of a social life, and I am not one of the pre-eminent women on the planet courtesy of being married to a handbag who happens to have lucked into the Presidency of the USA.


If we check out this lovely (*snicker*) ensemble from different angles, we can see the wonders of photography and why it is rightly considered to be a Fine Art.

On the left, with the soft backlighting softening the lines of her figure, it looks almost decent.

On the right, we change angles just a touch, and the skirt and cardy combo look oh, so bogan.

In the interests of full disclosure, please note that I am not a cardigan fan. I loathe them with a passion and can’t remember the last time I owned one. I would rather my arms froze off.

Of course, I’m a bit inflexible that way. Same with shoes. Michelle appears to prefer flats, which is understandable because she’s rather tall, and with decent heels, she’d tower over Barry.

For my shoes, I’ve got Redback workboots, trainers, a pair of flat sandals, or a pair of these for going out in:

Okay, I can’t help it – I love shoes. I also love decent shoes, and I’d rather go barefoot than wear crap. Michelle’s shoes just don’t do it for me.

Mind you, if someone could scrounge up a photo of her in either New Rocks (think the boots in the Matrix) or something from Shoecraft, I’d have a whole lot more time for her sense of “style” as it stands.

The twin sets are boring, and suggest a bit of time spent at Egglestone Hall instead of summer camp.

The way she walks, like she’s spent the last 8 years playing basketball, suggest she didn’t pass deportment with flying colours.

I just can’t believe she is being touted as some sort of model material.

No, she’s not. She’s a woman in the public eye, and while I suspect she’s the head of the household, she’s still only human and not the vision of grace and loveliness that so many are bleating on about. I’m looking at you, Oprah.

I’ll leave the final word to the Godmother, who took one look at this and said, “Oh my God, she dresses like a primary school teacher from the 80s!”

Well, I guess that’s one way to impress the leaders of the Free* World and their spouses.

*And the Not So Free World.

8 Responses to “Michelle Obama. Style Icon.”

  1. bingbing Says:

    Clothes, shoes, not my forte. I just know if it were her scary-ass face inches away from me every morning, I’d be aspiring to be the most protected man in the world, also.

  2. swampie Says:

    I was wondering if it was just ME that thought she was not a fashion icon. I heard a report of how fashion forward she was and commented to an elementary teacher that I didn’t think she was fashionable at all. The teacher got very miffed and said she thought that Michelle had a FINE fashion sense. The funny thing was that they were wearing nearly identical ensembles; one to greet the heads of Europe, one to teach first grade.

  3. Angus Dei Says:

    That last outfit looks like she mugged two schoolgirls from rival Catholic dioceses and combined their blazers just for spite.

  4. RebeccaH Says:

    Let’s face it. Michelle O has the worst taste in clothes I’ve ever seen in a First Lady. Those people who gush over her stylishness are simply trying to cover for her.

  5. spot_the_dog Says:

    For my shoes, I’ve got Redback workboots…

    A gal in Redbacks who eschews twin-sets and cardies is a gal after my own heart.

    If you are also the type who eats whatever she likes on a date (preferably including a good-sized hunk of dead cow) rather than whinging “…but where’s the Vegan menu”, and who is happy slothing around in PJs till noon on weekends whilst carefully perusing the weekend papers, and is not averse to eating Hagen-Dazs straight our of the container, I may have to contemplate a marriage proposal 😉

    • bingbing Says:

      Dated this woman once who just pushed food around the plate… arrrggghhh.

      There are few things more satisfying for a man than to be able to cook his sweetheart a big, juicy steak.

  6. mareeS Says:

    I hate to say, but that last pic was chicken legs in really bad shoes.

    I don’t see MObama as anyone terribly awful, but whoever is giving her fashion advice really needs to do another course.

    Just a suggestion.


Well, SAY something...