Beware the press with an agenda


If you’re old enough to remember Vietnam, you’ll remember seeing these photographs that Neoneocon describes. I remember them well, and at the time, I was upset but suspicious that we weren’t being given the whole story. During the Vietnam years, I had seen enough duplicity and self-righteousness among the people who proclaimed themselves “pacifists” and “warriors for peace” (traitorous Jane Fonda comes to mind, as do many of the celebrities of that era), that I distrusted much of what the elites told me (and yes, I knew they were elites, even back then, because they took pains to distinguish themselves from the rubes and hicks among which I included myself). 

I’ve known the truth about the photo showing General Loan executing the Viet Cong terrorist for decades, but to this day I had never heard the true story of the little napalmed girl. And that’s not right. Because they are pulling the same kind of crap today, thirty plus years later. 

(h/t Dr. Sanity)

Posted in Temp. 9 Comments »

9 Responses to “Beware the press with an agenda”

  1. spot_the_dog Says:

    Do you have a link to the 2 photos she’s talking about?

  2. tizona Says:

    The press has always had an agenda…Please remember, they are the elites. They have a college/university degree. They know better then anyone else. The most important things to remember are, propaganda and indoctrination.

  3. Ash Says:

    What’s disappointing the most is not that they’re going on with this indoctrination thing, but that so many people don’t even realise that that is what the media is doing.

  4. spot_the_dog Says:

    The press? An agenda? Oh, never.

    Of course there’s the little matter of Arthur “Pinch” Sulzberger Jr., publisher of the Times, saying during the Vietnam War that if a North Vietnamese soldier ran into an American soldier, he’d rather see the American soldier shot… And he’s never really recanted that statement… But he’s a professional — he (and his father before him) wouldn’t let personal views get in the way of journalistic integrity, surely? (link via Bob Owens)

  5. Angus Dei Says:

    When I was in 6th grade, my dad was serving in Viet Nam as a USAF pilot for the CIA. One of my half-baked, leftard-flake teachers asked me how it felt to be the son of a baby killer. When my mom found out, she went down there and tore her AND the principal several new square yards of asshole… as if they really needed any more.

    This was Lakewood, Washington, BTW: It’s always been filled with libtards, only it’s worse now than it was then.

  6. Ash Says:

    Angus, your mother had the right idea. I would have done exactly the same thing she did.

    Your mother must have been so furious.

  7. Rebecca H Says:

    Good for your mom, Angus!

    I was a young wife and new mother during Vietnam, and I remember driving out of the base gate one day after a trip to the commissary to buy diapers and formula, and seeing the ever-present hippie protestors spit at my car. I exercised iron control that day (plus I was scared shitless) and did not run anyone down.


Well, SAY something...